Brown/Grizzly Bear Hunting in Alaska
RB260 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2022
Hunt Number: RB260
Regulatory Year: 2022
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Brown Bear
Legal Animal: 1 brown bear except cubs or females accompanied by cubs, a wounded bear counts towards the bag limit.
Number of Permits
|Residency||Number of Permits|
|Nonresidents||Up to 99999 permits|
|Alaska residents||Up to 99999 permits|
|Total Number of Permits Available||Unlimited|
04/01/2023 - 05/15/2023
*See Drawing or Subsistence Supplements for season details.
- Hunt available to Nonresidents
- Hunt available to Alaska residents
- Report in person at Kodiak ADF&G office within 5 days of leaving the hunt area. (907)486-1880
- Specimens Required: skull, and hide with claws and evidence of sex attached
Submit report within 15 days of the close of the season.
If you hunted unsuccessfully or did not hunt, you may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov
The RB260 permit shall be in the possession of the permittee while hunting or transporting brown bear and shall be exhibited to any person authorized to enforce state and federal laws who requests to see it. The permit is NONTRANSFERABLE.
The RB260 permit is valid from April 1 - May 15.
Unit 8, Northeast Kodiak, including all drainages into Chiniak, Anton Larsen, and northeast Ugak (east of Saltery Creek drainage) Bays, and including Spruce, Near, Woody, Long, Ugak and adjacent islands.
4) BAG LIMIT:
One (1) brown bear every four regulatory years, however cubs and sows accompanied by cubs are protected. If you have killed a brown bear anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, this permit is invalid. If you have wounded a bear and cannot recover it, you must stop hunting, validate (notch) your permit, and call the Kodiak ADF&G office (907)486-1880.
SUCCESSFUL hunters shall report in person to the Kodiak ADF&G office with hide and skull for sealing within 5 days after leaving the hunt area. UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT shall return the completed harvest report, either in person, online at http://hunt.alaska.gov, or by mail to the Kodiak ADF&G office within 15 days of the close of the season.
6) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT:
If you fail to report, you will not be eligible to receive any permits (drawing, tier II, and registration) during the next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.
Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.