Hunting and Trapping Emergency Order Alaska Department

Under the Authority of AS 16.05.060

of Fish and Game

Emergency Order No. R3-1-24

Issued at: McGrath, Alaska

1/12/2024

Effective Date: 12:01 A.M.

2/1/2024

Expiration Date: June 30, 2024 unless superseded by subsequent

emergency order

EXPLANATION:

This emergency order closes the winter moose hunt RM660 in Game Management Unit 19D.

REGULATION:

Therefore, the following regulations in **5AAC 85.045(17)**, **HUNTING SEASONS AND BAG LIMITS FOR MOOSE**, are superseded by this emergency order, and the following provisions are effective for hunting moose:

Resident
Open Season
(Subsistence and
General Hunts)

Nonresident Open Season

Units and Bag Limits

(17)

Unit 19(D), that portion upstream Of the Selatna River, excluding the Black River

1 moose by registration permit only, a person may not take a cow accompanied by a calf

No Open Season

No Open Season

Resident Open Season (Subsistence and General Hunts)

Nonresident Open Season

Units and Bag Limits

. . .

JUSTIFICATION:

Moose in Unit 19D experienced a significant decline over the winter of 2022/2023. The McGrath area experienced record snow levels for much of the winter followed by an extremely late spring and green up. On April 30 there were still 34 inches of snow on the ground. Of 15 calves collared in March 2023 none survived the remainder of the winter. Surveys were conducted in November 2023 in an 1,118 mi² area around McGrath where numbers declined from 2,471 moose in 2022 to 1,613 moose in 2023. This represents an approximately 35% decline. The current intensive management objective in a portion of Unit 19D is 5,578 moose. Our current estimate of 3,825 moose is below the objective. With very poor recruitment and high overwinter mortality, a winter antlerless hunt is not sustainable at this time, and RM660 will be closed in all areas.

Doug Vincent-Lang Commissioner

By delegation to:

Joshua M. Peirce Area Biologist

DISTRIBUTION:

The distribution of this Emergency Order is to the following list. Copies are available from the Department of Fish and Game office in Fairbanks.

- 1. Governor
- 2. Lt. Governor
- 3. Commissioner, Dept. of Fish and Game
- 4. Asst. Attorney General (BOG Liaison)
- 5. Division of Wildlife Conservation
 - a. Director
 - b. Deputy Director
 - c. Regional Supervisors
 - d. Regulations Coordination Team
 - e. Area Offices, Statewide
 - f. Information Management
 - g. Wildlife Information Centers
 - h. HQ Webmaster
- 6. State/Federal Regulations Coordinators
 - a. Anchorage
 - b. Anchorage (Federal)
- 7. Division of Subsistence
 - a. Bethel
 - b. HO
 - c. Fairbanks Statewide Coordinator
 - d. Fairbanks Regional Program Manager
- 8. Division of Boards
 - a. Executive Director, Juneau
 - b. Boards Coordinator, Fairbanks
- 9. Public Communication Section
- 10. Alaska Wildlife Troopers (AWT)
 - a. Anchorage
 - b. Aniak
 - c. Bethel
 - d. Coldfoot
 - e. Fairbanks
 - f. Galena
 - g. McGrath
- 11. Local Magistrate
 - a. Aniak
 - b. Galena
 - c. Delta
 - d. Ft. Yukon
 - e. Nenana/Healy/Tanana
 - f. Tok
- 12. US Fish and Wildlife Service
 - a. Anchorage
 - b. Galena
- 13. US Bureau of Land Management

- a. Anchorage
- b. Fairbanks
- 14. US Forest Service Chugach
- 15. Koyukuk-Nowitna NWR
- 16. Gates of the Arctic National P&P
- 17. Innoko National Wildlife Refuge
- 18. Kanuti National Wildlife Refuge
- 19. Tanana Chiefs Conference Fairbanks
- 20. GASH Advisory Committee
- 21. Koyukuk Advisory Committee
- 22. Middle Yukon Advisory Committee
- 23. Ruby Advisory Committee
- 24. Tanana/Rampart/Manley Advisory Committee
- 25. Yukon Flats Advisory Committee
- 26. Minto-Nenana Advisory Committee
- 27. Alatna Village Council
- 28. Allakaket Village Council
- 29. Anaktuvuk Village Council
- 30. Evansville Village Council
- 31. Hughes Village Council
- 32. Huslia Village Council
- 33. Kaltag Village Council
- 34. Koyukuk Village Council
- 35. Nulato Village Council
- 36. Ruby Village Council
- 37. Louden Village Council
- 38. Grayling Village Council
- 39. Anvik Village Council
- 40. Kuskokwim Native Association
- 41. Chuathbaluk Traditional Council
- 42. Native Village of Lower Kalskag
- 43. Native Village of Napaimiut
- 44. Sleetmute Village Council
- 45. Crooked Creek Traditional Council
- 46. Lime Village Traditional Council
- 47. Red Devil Traditional Council
- 48. Stony River Traditional Council
- 49. Council of Athabaskan Tribal Governments
- 50. McGrath Village Council
- 51. Nikolai Village Council
- 52. Steese Roadhouse
- 53. Department of Transportation, Bettles
- 54. Yukon Charley NWR Eagle